Monday, May 9, 2011

02/03 May Mom & Dad

Hey guys,
Let me start off with this: "Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy birthday dear Daddy, Happy Birthday to you!!!"  Man it's starting to get really hard being away from you guys like this.  Sometimes I wish I could jump in a time machine and go back so I never did this.  I just miss you so much.  I don't think I could regret doing this, this has been such a life changing experience for me and it's done me a lot of good.  My confidence level is building, my motivation to get things done is at an all time high, but that could be the DI countdown in effect there, and I have a sense of direction, granted at the moment it's following orders and screaming, I still know what I''m doing with my life.  Today was the start of grass week and next week is firing week.  Why does grass week sound like a lot of crawling and running?  Cuz so far we've all seemed to screw this over and have to run everywhere.  Oh and we had to "practice" dropping and high crawling for at least an hour yesterday, because not everyone would drop when DI Sgt Gaddis said "incoming".  That was annoying, but it could have been worse and we could have crawled through fire ant hills.  Those little buggers, and it's not just one that bites you but like 2 dozen at a time.
When I get back I'm taking you guys, Grandma & Grandpa out to dinner so I'm guaranteed at least one meal together with you.  I miss that the most:  The family gatherings.  I guess I'll get used to it as time goes by, but man I'm homesick. I will never take seeing my family for granted cuz as I'm experiencing now, I never know when I'll see you guys again for a period of time.  This time I do know, June 17, and I'm doing my best to ensure it stays that way and I don't get dropped for any reason.  What comes after the rifle range?  I just want form idea as to what's coming up cuz I do not like being in the dark like I always am.  Dad you tell me what I'm doing, but like four or five days after we do it.  We'll see how the days goes, probably more running, a class, drill, and more running/crawling.  By the way blisters on the top of the toes stink.  They haven't been broken open yet and that's the best thing here for them.  Harder to get cellulitis this way.  I think we're going to have another drop soon.  This girl, Chambers, keeps having anxiety attacks.  It's freaky to listen to.
Probably goin gto medical today for shots I didn't get because of the laundry day thing.  Oh joy, more needles.  That reminds me Mom I god a Gardasil shot.  I want to know if I just helped my body, or if I just put something poisonous in it for no reason.  I also got a whole nother round of shots, those are in the butt, hurt like a whatever you would like to put there.  We got assigned into new squads and families for drill formation.  I'm still in 4th squad thank God, but I'm up in the seventh family or row.  Apparently I'm taller than I thought.  Dude it was great on Saturday.  We had our 6-8 mile hike to the rifle range and then we went our to drill.  Apparently we all did something amazing our there cuz we impressed the hell out of Senior Drill Instructor Sgt Behlman.  We were one mistake away form going to the pit and then we were told if we kept up the great work we would get to shave.  WE SHAVED SATURDAY NIGHT, and man that was a present all on itself.  Hadn't shaved since March 20th, if that gives you new perspective on that freedom.  We might not shave again til Training Day 68.  Oh well, if it was winter I'd say it provides good insulation.  It's spring almost summer though.  It's around 75-85 degrees down here for the last couple of weeks, but it going to get HOT.  It's humid but there's always a cool breeze coming in for the coast so it's not horrible out yet.  Drinking 8 canteens a day, though I need to push it up to around 15 though.
So you say I'm too vague on what I write during my day so here's training day 30.  Up at 2200 for a 2 hour rifle watch and back up from the racks at 0400.  Then the other laundry recruits and I had to collect all the linens for the week and load it in the back of the van.  Then went to morning chow.  This chow hall crew is awesome, they aren't stingy with the serving size, they take a scoop and plop it on your plate and they have real bacon.  It tastes so good, then we went to class for get ready for the rifle range.  We learned how to service our rifles and what we need to look for so it doesn't blow up.  Senior describes the rifle this way: "On the rifle range, the weapon is your baby, but in drill it's your bitch."  Her words not mine.  I think Dad knows what I'm talking about.  Most of our free time is spent cleaning the dirt and grime out of the weapon.  I heard about Osama through Senior during lunch, and the circle of trust.  Finally, but what's going to happen now?  What's the retaliation going to be?  Anyway, the rest of the day was classes on the weapon and different firing positions.  And I got IT'd yesterday.  Oh well, bound to happen.  Another friend of mine has helped me with the stress too.  When I started going under the stress, Castro stood beside me and told me to list food and that helped a lot, then she asked me to list recipes, that helped me calm down a lot.   Castro says she's coming home with me just so she can have all the dishes I told her about.  Memory works great with that!! :)  Then we went and ate chow then went to the squad bay and wet scuzzed the floor & took our shower & had free time.
Well this letter started on the 2nd, but it looks like I'm finishing it on the 3rd.  We woke up at 0400 and got dressed quickly for chow at 0445 or 0500.  Then we went to the squad bay and went to PT at 0600.  We had it pretty easy; 3 laps around the track with intervals of 30 push ups, 60 air squats, and 70 crunches in between them.  Then we went back to the squad bay and took a shower before heading to class where we learned about zeroing in on the target, natural breathing pause, and the positions again.  After all that we went across the street, sat in a circle and ate chow.  Then we got into the prone position, which is lying on your stomach, elbows tight to the body, weapon in the high pocket of the right shoulder for 4 and a half hours until we went to the chow hall for evening chow.  Then we got back to the squad bay and got our shower, did the laundry, and then had free time.  Not a lot.  By the way, hard boiled eggs are nasty, and so are lima beans. Mushrooms are okay as well as potatoes and tomatoes.  Those are great cuz they're always cooked in pasta dishes that don't taste like crap.  I want to be there for Friday Dad, & I know I can't be, but I can't help  the want to be there with you guys for your birthday.  By the way Dad, about that present, I think I can wait that long, 4 1/2 years as long as we keep in contact all the time, even if it means slow snail mail.  I think in the next month with the more freedom I'm given it will be a lot easier for me to deal with being away from you guys.  I don't know, it's a thought.  Anyway this letter was supposed to last a page and now it 2 1/2, so I'll end in saying happy birthday to you Dad and to Uncle Peter as well as the usual I love you.  I can't wait to see you & I love you so much.
Love
Bizzy Bee

No comments:

Post a Comment