Tuesday, May 24, 2011

17 May, 19 May, Mom & Dad

Hey guys
I haven't passed the rifle range so I've got until Friday to qualify as marksman or I get dropped to Oscar.  I'm depending too much on the 200 yd and 300 yd lines.

Hey guys,
I passed but I'm kind of mad at myself.  I scored a 213 but will only officially score a 190 because I didn't qualify on friday. I would have gotten sharp shooter.  Oh well, I've got next year.  3 more weeks God I can't wait.  Is it bad to have dreams about food, cuz I keep seeing Italian food.  By the way I found the only food bacon doesn't help taste better is the morning oatmeal.  That stuff is the only thing that tastes horrible but I eat as much as I can in the morning since it's another 8-9 hours until afternoon chow.  So today I went back to the range and was a scorekeeper until 0930 then came back to the squadbay and cleaned until 1230 for afternoon chow then was told to go to the all weather center which sent me, Arnhalt, Barcenas, Valenzda, Jansen, Correa, & Kinningson to the combat camera.  We were told to clean the heads, then I was told to sweep the deck and after that I went to one of the Marines for another job and was told to vacuum the audio offices.  So I finish that and then I got asked how the rest of my group is outside police calling and I was in there cleaning a vacuum.  I told him this recruit was told to vacuum and so he had me put that away and then he had me start organizing the closet, sorry gear locker.  Then we were given head and water calls and told to stand by for an hour so we get into a group discussion on the Drill Instructors.  We all agree that Drill Instructor Gaddis is a major control freak and that we respect her but don't really like her.  Drill Instructor Sgt Moffet should be leaving us to go to baby November next week but I hope she stays.  She tests our bearings all the time and she's been the one that has been "helping" me and my temper.  Pit  training, gotta love rolling around in the sand.  Drill Instructor Sgt Dunn, where to start with her.  I used to have issues with her but now I have all respect for her again and even more.  In her element, knowledge of the rifle, she is the coolest person ever.  Today we all decided/agreed/were told by the platoon that we are going to be sounding even louder for her because of how much she has helped us out.  I'm not sure what I told you about last week, but we practiced crawling and when we were told to run back and do the back crawl, I asked her how you do it without raising your knees cuz the crawl is for going under barbed wire and yeah she gave me the "you're an idiot" face but explained how because I asked, she's very passionate about any knowledge on the Marine Corps and man if you ask about the weapon, watch her light up as she explains it.  We made her lose her bearing.  She calls us terrorists because of that too.
The Company Commander Inspection is on Sat.  It's either going to save or break us for the next 3 weeks.  Man, Marines, I swear all have extreme OCD.  It's never EVER clean enough which is ok in some areas but man it stinks having to climb on 3 footlockers just to clean the lights and vents.  Helps you learn how to balance yourself quickly though.  All the girls here keep talking about how they're craving candy, but I am craving granola bars, granted they're probably expensive but they taste awesome.  Dad I already told you how I did on my PFT:  1st class.  I also got the stamps, thank you very much for these.  Hey on family day you should bring me some McDonalds, yes you should, not sure if you can though.  That sounds awesome.  According to Drill Instructor Sgt Gaddis I'll be in my service Alphas which means I won't be able to hug you guys until I change into charlie's.  That's going to be hard to do.  Oh Well, I'll get over it with the fact I'll be able to hug you for the next 10 days after that.  I miss you so much but I'm getting so excited.  My platoon is almost there, we're closer to earning that title and the eagle, globe, and anchor.  Almost there, I can't wait.  Sunday is right around the corner and I promise to write to you then, but until then I'll say be safe and that I love you guys so much.
Love
Bizzy Bee

No comments:

Post a Comment